LRT, MRT schedule for December 31 2012

The Light Rail Transit Authority (LRTA) announced today on its website that LRT 1 and 2 will be observing shortened operating hours on Christmas and New Year’s Eve. As previously noted in this blog, both December 24 and 31 are special non-working holidays according to the Palace.

lrt schedule christmas 2012
LRT 1 and 2 schedule for December 24 and 31 (credits: MRT3 website)

December 24, 2012 (Christmas Eve)

Line 1

Baclaran station, 5:00 AM to 8:00 PM

Roosevelt station, 5:00 AM to 8:00 PM

Line 2

Santolan station, 5:00 AM to 8:00 PM

Recto station, 5:00 AM to 8:30 PM

December 31, 2012 (New Year’s Eve)

Line 1

Baclaran station, 5:00 AM to 7:00 PM

Roosevelt station, 5:00 AM to 7:00 PM

Line 2

Santolan station, 5:00 AM to 7:00 PM

Recto station, 5:00 AM to 7:30 PM

The LRTA stressed that the “no inspection, no entry” policy will still be strictly enforced in all stations during those days, and that it will unavoidably include wrapped gifts. Meanwhile, the administrators of Metro Rail Transit 3 (MRT3) have announced on GMA News that they will not be shortening the train’s operating hours for the holidays. Therefore, it is open from 5:30 AM to 11:00PM.

Here are the things you cannot bring with you inside bus and train stations (credits to the Facebook page of MRT3):

prohibited things mrt and lrt
An infographic detailing the prohibited things inside Philippine bus and train stations

Number coding lifted on December 24, 25, and 31 and January 1

In its Twitter account, the Metro Manila Development Authority announced Friday night the suspension of the number coding scheme on December 24, 25, and 31 as well as January 1 throughout its jurisdiction – even in the cities of Makati and Las Pinas.

December 30, 2012 – MRT free ride!

As the country marks the death anniversary of national hero Jose Rizal tomorrow, December 30, the MRT will be offering free rides to commuters from 7:00 AM to 9:00 AM and from 5:00 to 7:00 p.m.




About Mark Madrona 1191 Articles
Mark Madrona is a prize-winning blogger, online journalist, and educator from the Philippines. Previously a book editor, he is now teaching communication subjects for two public universities in Manila. His blog The Filipino Scribe won 3rd place in a blog competition organized by the Affiliated Network for Social Accountability in East Asia and the Pacific (ANSA-EAP). In 2015, it was one of the finalists in the 2015 Lasallian Scholarum Awards for Best Online Feature Article in Youth and Education. He also won the Best Blog Award during the 2011 Population and Development Media Awards, the youngest recipient of that recognition. Know more about him here:

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: