December 8 2014 declared a holiday in Taguig City

taguig city seal
Taguig City will celebrate its annual foundation anniversary this December 8

Taguig will be marking its 10th cityhood anniversary this coming December 8, Monday.

The day has been declared by President Benigno Aquino III as a special non-working holiday through Proclamation 914, which Executive Secretary Paquito Ochoa signed on his behalf last November 13. Read the full text of Proclamation 914 here.

Republic Act 8487, which paved the way for the conversion of Taguig from a municipality into a highly urbanized city, was enacted during the term of then-President Joseph Estrada in 1998. Read more about RA 8487 here.

taguig city seal
Taguig City will celebrate its annual foundation anniversary this December 8

Taguig’s march toward becoming a city didn’t go as smoothly as planned, however. RA 8487 mandated that a plebiscite be held to determine if residents of Taguig City to determine if they are in favor of the initiative.

It was initially determined that the “no”  side won the plebiscite. After almost six years, the Commission on Elections reversed the declared outcome, citing irregularities in the voting and counting process.Taguig officially became a city in December 8, 2004. The Supreme Court affirmed this in a 2006 ruling.

As a historical background, Taguig used to be part of Rizal. In 1975, Taguig, together with Makati, Mandaluyong, San Juan, Las Piñas, Malabon, Navotas, Pasig, Pateros, Parañaque, Marikina, and Muntinlupa were separated from Rizal to be part of Metropolitan Manila as stipulated in Presidential Decree 824 (all except Pateros have now been converted into cities). Keep in mind that back then, President Ferdinand Marcos has both executive and legislative powers.

Please “like” The Filipino Scribe on Facebook!



About Mark Madrona 1191 Articles
Mark Madrona is a prize-winning blogger, online journalist, and educator from the Philippines. Previously a book editor, he is now teaching communication subjects for two public universities in Manila. His blog The Filipino Scribe won 3rd place in a blog competition organized by the Affiliated Network for Social Accountability in East Asia and the Pacific (ANSA-EAP). In 2015, it was one of the finalists in the 2015 Lasallian Scholarum Awards for Best Online Feature Article in Youth and Education. He also won the Best Blog Award during the 2011 Population and Development Media Awards, the youngest recipient of that recognition. Know more about him here:

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: