The Office of President Benigno Aquino III has declared December 8 2015, Tuesday, a special non-working holiday in Taguig City in connection to its 11th cityhood anniversary celebration. The President made the announcement this week through Proclamation 1175.

Taguig’s journey from being a municipality into a highly urbanized city has been long and arduous. It began in 1998 when then-President Joseph Estrada signed into law Republic Act 8487. which paved the way for the conversion of Taguig from a municipality into a highly urbanized city, was enacted during the term of then-President Joseph Estrada in 1998. Read the full text of RA 8487 here.

RA 8487 mandated that a plebiscite be held to determine if the residents of Taguig are in favor of the initiative. A vote was held, and the “no” side was declared victorious. However, the Commission on Elections (COMELEC) reversed the declared outcome because of rampant irregularities in the voting and counting process.


december 8 2015 holiday taguig city
December 8 2015 has been declared a holiday for Taguig City

Taguig officially became a city in December 8, 2004 (hence the foundation anniversary). The Supreme Court upheld the legality of COMELEC’s move in a 2006 ruling.

Taguig used to be part of Rizal for much of the 19th and 20th century. In 1975, Taguig, together with Makati, Mandaluyong, San Juan, Las Piñas, Malabon, Navotas, Pasig, Pateros, Parañaque, Marikina, and Muntinlupa were separated from Rizal and became part of the newly-created Metropolitan Manila as stipulated in Presidential Decree 824.

Except Pateros, all those areas has been converted into cities through the decades. Keep in mind that back then, President Ferdinand Marcos has both executive and legislative powers.

Like The Filipino Scribe on Facebook!



Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: