President Benigno Aquino III praised Pia Wurtzbach for winning the crown during the 2015 Miss Universe pageant held in Las Vegas, Nevada Monday morning (Philippine time).

In a published statement, presidential spokesperson Edwin Lacierda commended Wurtzbach for showing the world “the characteristic beauty, intelligence, and elegance for which Filipinas are renowned.”

Lacierda also hailed Wurtzback for displaying tremendous poise and control after it was initially announced by event host Steve Harvey that Miss Columbia Ariadna Gutierrez won the title with Miss Philippines settling for first runner-up. Harvey then acknowledged a few minutes later that he had read the results incorrectly and that it is Wurtzback that should have won.

pia wurtzbach miss universe 2015
Miss Philippines Pia Wurtzbach getting crowned as Miss Universe 2015 (Photo taken from Miss Universe Organization Facebook page)

“In the first few moments of the original announcement, she showed tremendous poise and control, and even more tremendous graciousness when the real verdict was finally announced,” Lacierda said.

After the event, Wurtzbach made light of what she described as her “non-traditional crowning moment.” With Miss United States Olivia Jordan besides her, she quipped: “It is very 2015!”

“The tremendous support our countrymen have given Ms. Wurtzbach, from her Binibining Pilipinas title to the weeks leading up to the pageant, helped propel her to become a pageant favorite, and eventually led to her winning. In bagging this victory, Ms. Wurtzbach not only serves as a tremendous source of pride for our people, but also holds up the banner of our women and of our country—as a true representative of what the Filipina can achieve,” Lacierda concluded.

Wurtzbach is the third Filipina to bag the Miss Universe title, following Gloria Diaz in 1969 and Margie Moran-Floirendo in 1973. The Philippines had close misses in recent years, most notably in 1999 and 2012 with Miriam Quiambao and Janine Tugonon settling for first runner-up.




Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: