Philippine holidays for 2015: Eight long weekends coming up

Philippine holidays for 2015: Eight long weekends coming up

With still five months to go before 2014 ends, the Office of the President has already released the list of national holidays for the year 2015.

Malacanang made the announcement through Proclamation 831, which President Benigno Aquino III signed early this month but was only posted online yesterday. Read the full text of Proclamation 831 in this link.

Based on Proclamation 831, Filipinos will have a total of 18 regular and special non-working holidays next year. On top of that, there will be two additional regular holidays for the commemoration of Eid’l Fitr and Eid’l Adha.

The exact dates for the aforementioned two Muslim holidays will be determined through lunar observations (as Philippine Daily Inquirer noted, there will be separate proclamations for the said holidays).

(Note: Please visit The Filipino Scribe regularly for updates on local and national holidays and their corresponding pay rules.)

philippine holidays 2015
The official list of Philippine holidays for 2015

Regular Holidays

January 1, 2015 – New Year’s Day (Thursday)

April 2, 2015 – Maundy Thursday

April 3, 2015 – Good Friday

April 9, 2015 – Araw ng Kagitingan (Thursday)

May 1, 2015 – Labor Day (Friday)

June 12, 2015 – Araw ng Kalayaan (Friday)

August 31, 2015 – National Heroes Day (Last Monday of August)

November 30, 2015 – Bonifacio Day (Monday)

December 25, 2015 – Christmas Day (Friday)

December 30, 2015 – Rizal Day (Wednesday)

Special non-working days

February 19, 2015 – Chinese New Year (Thursday)

February 25, 2015 – EDSA People Power Anniversary (for schools only)

April 4, 2015 – Black Saturday

August 21, 2015 – Ninoy Aquino Day (Friday)

November 1, 2015 – All Saints’ Day (Sunday)

Additional non-working days

January 2, 2015 – Friday

December 24, 2015 – Christmas Eve (Thursday)

December 31, 2015 – Last day of the year (Thursday)


About Author



Mark Pere Madrona

The Filipino Scribe (TFS) is managed by Mark Pere Madrona, a multi-awarded writer and licensed professional teacher from the Philippines. Mr. Madrona earned his master’s degree in history from the University of the Philippines-Diliman last 2020. He obtained his bachelor’s degree in journalism cum laude from the same university back in 2010. His area of interests includes Philippine journalism, history, and politics as well as social media. Know more about him here:

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.