Caloocan City, one of the component cities of the National Capital Region, will be celebrating its 53rd annual foundation day anniversary this coming February 16, Monday.

Commonly referred to as “Caloocan City Day,” February 16 is a special non-working holiday in the city by virtue of Republic Act 7550.

caloocan city day february 16 2015
February 16 2015 is a special non-working holiday in Caloocan City

RA 7550 came into effect in May 1992, during the final weeks of President Corazon Aquino’s term. Read the full text of RA 7550 in this link.

Located in northern NCR, Caloocan City has 188 barangays. The so-called north Caloocan is located east of Valenzuela City, north of Quezon City, and south of San Jose del Monte City, Bulacan. This makes Caloocan City the northernmost territory of Metro Manila.

Southern Caloocan City lies directly north of the City of Manila and is bounded by Malabon City and Valenzuela City to the north, Navotas to the west, and Quezon City to the east.

RA 3278, otherwise known as the Charter of the City of Caloocan, was enacted in 1961. It officially became a city February 16 1962,




One thought on “February 16 2015 declared a holiday in Caloocan CIty

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: