The nation will be making the 139th birth anniversary of President Manuel L. Quezon this August 19, Saturday. The day has been designated as a special non-working holiday in Quezon City as well as the provinces of Aurora and Quezon by Republic Act 6741. It is a working holiday in the rest of the Philippines. The law was enacted during the term of the late President Corazon Aquino. Read the full text of RA 6741 in this link.

Quezon is the country’s second president, having served from 1935 until his death in 1944. He is also the third longest-serving president in Philippine history, behind Ferdinand Marcos and Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo.

august 19 2017 holiday quezon city
August 19 2017, Saturday, is a special non-working holiday in Quezon City

He was the first of three presidents that led the country during the Commonwealth years. As frequently mentioned in history books, it is a ten-year transition period beginning in 1935 before the United States granted the Philippines independence. That period of guided self-governance was interrupted by Japanese occupation during World War II.

Quezon City was officially created in 1939 through Commonwealth Act #502, which was passed during the term of President Manuel Quezon. By 1948, Quezon City was proclaimed the capital city and the seat of the national government through Republic Act 333 which was signed into law by then President Elpidio Quirino. It remained that way until 1976, when Ferdinand Marcos signed Presidential Decree 940 which made Manila once again the capital city of the country.

Please like the Facebook page of “The Filipino Scribe”!



Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: