Senate votes to convict Chief Justice

FINAL SCORE, 20-3: Twenty senator-judges voted to impeach Supreme Court Chief Justice Renato Corona. Only sixteen votes were necessary to impeach the latter from office (two-thirds vote of all Senator). Corona becomes the first Philippine official to be impeached.

Chief Justice Renato Corona is impeached from office with a vote of 20-3 (credits:

With this conviction, senator-judges will no longer vote on Articles III and VII. Instead, they will do a resolution informing Corona of the court’s decision. The impeached chief justice is said to be recuperating in the Medical City in Pasig. It remains unclear when Corona will have to vacate his post.

The Senate secretary will inform the following through writing of the court’s verdict:

1. Respondent (the camp of impeached Chief Justice Renato Corona)

2.  Office of the House Speaker

3. Supreme Court

4. Office of the President

5. Judicial and Bar Council


Angara, Edgardo

Cayetano, Alan Peter

Cayetano, Pilar Juliana

Drilon, Franklin

Escudero, Francis

Estrada, Jinggoy

Guingona, TG

Honasan, Gregorio

Lacson, Panfilo

Lapid, Lito

Legarda, Loren

Osmena, Sergio III

Pangilinan, Francis

Pimentel, Aquilino III

Recto, Ralph

Revilla, Ramon B.

Sotto, Vicente III

Trillanes, Antonio IV

Villar, Manuel Jr.

Enrile, Juan Ponce

Not Guilty

Arroyo, Joker

Defensor-Santiago, Miriam

Marcos, Bong-Bong



3 thoughts on “Renato Corona is impeached

  1. It’s already 14-3 in favor of removal. Certainly Recto and Trillanes would vote for removal. The Senate has more or less decided and Corona is found guilty.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: