One year ban on appointing losing candidates ends today

One year ban on appointing losing candidates ends today

The one-year ban prohibition on appointing losing candidates during the 2016 national and local elections ends today, May 9. Article IX, Section 6B of the 1987 Constitution stipulates that “No candidate who has lost in any election shall, within one year after such election, be appointed to any office in the Government or any Government-owned or controlled corporations or in any of their subsidiaries” (emphasis added).

Section 94.b of the Local Government Code mirrors that provision as well:
Except for losing candidates in barangay elections, no candidate who lost in any election shall,within one year after such election, be appointed to any office in the government or any government-owned and controlled corporation or in any of their subsidiaries.

alan cayetano DFA secretary
Senator Alan Peter Cayetano, a losing 2016 vice presidential candidate, is said to be eyeing the Department of Foreign Affairs (Photo taken from his Facebook page)

It has been reported that a number of people associated with President Rodrigo Duterte’s 2016 campaign organization are being considered for government positions. This includes Senator Alan Peter Cayetano, who is rumored to be the next Foreign Affairs secretary, and former Senator Bongbong Marcos, who might be the next Interior Secretary. Both Cayetano and Marcos ran for Vice President in the 2016 elections, but was defeated in the race by Leni Robredo.

Others in Duterte’s senatorial line-up are also likely to get government jobs include former Philippine Drug Enforcement Agency Chief Dionisio Santiago, former Interior Secretary Rafael Alunan, former Quezon City Rep. Dante Liban, former Pasig City Rep. Roman Romulo, and whistle blower Sandra Cam.


The 1987 Constitution prevents Duterte from having a ‘team of rivals’

Please “like” the Facebook page of “The Filipino Scribe”!

About Author



Mark Pere Madrona

The Filipino Scribe (TFS) is managed by Mark Pere Madrona, a multi-awarded writer and licensed professional teacher from the Philippines. Mr. Madrona earned his master’s degree in history from the University of the Philippines-Diliman last 2020. He obtained his bachelor’s degree in journalism cum laude from the same university back in 2010. His area of interests includes Philippine journalism, history, and politics as well as social media. Know more about him here:

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.