#ECQSeason4: Duterte places Metro Manila, Cebu, and Laguna under ECQ until May 31

#ECQSeason4: Duterte places Metro Manila, Cebu, and Laguna under ECQ until May 31

Metro Manila, together with the provinces of Laguna and Cebu, will remain under enhanced community quarantine (ECQ) until May 31. That is in accordance to the recommendations made by the Inter-Agency Task Force on Emerging Infectious Diseases or IATF-EID which was subsequently approved by President Rodrigo Duterte.

According to Palace spokesperson Harry Roque, the aforementioned areas are considered as high-risk areas for the community outbreak of the coronavirus disease or COVID-19. Parenthetically, most other areas previously under ECQ will now be general community quarantine or GCQ. These are the following:


  • Region II
  • Region III
  • Region IV-A, except Laguna
    *Cordillera Administrative Region
    *Region VII, except Cebu
    *Region XI
    *Region XIII
Duterte lockdown extensionDuterte lockdown extension
President Rodrigo Duterte announced the extension of enhanced community quarantine implemented in Metro Manila, Laguna, and Cebu (Photo credits: ABS-CBN News)

Meanwhile, all the other areas not under ECQ or GCQ are considered as “low risk” and will thus have minimum health standards.


*Region I
*Region IV-B
*Region VI
*Region VIII
*Region X
*Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (ARMM)

About Author



Mark Pere Madrona

The Filipino Scribe (TFS) is managed by Mark Pere Madrona, a multi-awarded writer and licensed professional teacher from the Philippines. Mr. Madrona earned his master’s degree in history from the University of the Philippines-Diliman last 2020. He obtained his bachelor’s degree in journalism cum laude from the same university back in 2010. His area of interests includes Philippine journalism, history, and politics as well as social media. Know more about him here: https://www.filipinoscribe.com/about/.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.